About the site

This site is intended as a resource to help local governments, industry, and other stakeholders more effectively use the BC Energy Step Code. It is hosted by the Province of British Columbia, with support from the Energy Step Code Council.

About the Energy Step Code Council

In 2017, the Province of British Columbia established the Energy Step Code Council to support the successful implementation of the BC Energy Step Code and the market transition to net-zero energy ready buildings. A representative of the Province of British Columbia’s Building and Safety Standards Branch chairs the Council. Government, industry, and utility stakeholders serve as Council representatives

As an advisory body, the Council does not have any formal regulatory or administrative authority. Instead, it provides a venue for stakeholders to gather and share information, and work collaboratively to resolve issues as they arise. Informally, it serves as a  “bridge” between the provincial government, utilities, local governments, and the building, development and design sectors, to help local governments adopt the BC Energy Step Code in a prudent and coordinated manner.

The Province of British Columbia works with the Energy Step Code Council to monitor how local governments are implementing the standard, including any impacts on housing affordability and technical building requirements. Issues identified by the Council may inform future changes to the technical content of the regulation, or how it is implemented.

Under its Terms of Reference, the Council:

  • Supports the creation and dissemination of training and capacity building opportunities for local governments, industry, and other stakeholders
  • Provides advice and clarification of technical aspects of the BC Energy Step Code
  • Seeks resolution of implementation issues as they arise

Council membership

Council Chair:

  • Zachary May, Attorney General and Ministry Responsible for Housing

Vice Chairs:

  • Bob Deeks, Canadian Home Builders’ Association of B.C. and RDC Fine Homes
  • Robyn Wark, BC Hydro

Council members by organization

Representing local governments

Building Officials’ Association of British Columbia
  • Tyler Wightman, Executive Director
  • Catherine Ernst, Education Coordinator
City of Vancouver
  • Sean Pander, Program Manager, Green Buildings
Planning Institute of British Columbia
  • Norm Connolly, Community Energy Manager, City of Richmond
Union of BC Municipalities
  • Megan Lohmann, Head, Community Energy Management, Community Energy Association
  • Maxwell Sykes, Climate and Energy Manager, City of Surrey
University of British Columbia
  • John Madden, Director, Sustainability and Engineering

Representing industry

Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of British Columbia
  • Jason Jung, Manager, Professional Practice & Development
Architectural Institute of British Columbia
  • Maura Gatensby, Practice Advisor
British Columbia Construction Association
  • Warren Perks, Vice President
Building Owners and Managers Association of British Columbia
  • Muneesh Sharma, Director of Government Affairs and Communications
Canadian Home Builders’ Association of British Columbia
  • Bob Deeks, RDC Fine Homes
  • Joe Hart, Icon Homes
  • Kelly Reid, HRK Builders
Engineers and Geoscientists British Columbia
  • Harshan Radhakrishnan, Practice Advisor
Homebuilders Association Vancouver
  • Diana Dilworth, Director of Government Relations
Urban Development Institute
  • Jeff Fisher, Vice President
  • Roberto Pecora, Director of Programs

Representing utilities

BC Hydro
  • Robyn Wark, Team Lead, Sustainable Communities
  • Bea Bains, Energy Products and Services, Energy Solutions

Representing non-profit housing providers

Aboriginal Housing Management Association
  • Patrick Caraher, Energy and Sustainability Specialist
BC Housing
  • Wilma Leung, Senior Manager, Technical Research and Education

Representing academic institutions

University of Northern British Columbia
  • Dr. Guido Wimmers, Associate Professor

Representing provincial and federal governments

Page last updated: May 10, 2021.